One summer afternoon,

comfort filled the room.

I completed my

“net worth” form and

through the open window

let out a warm smile.

 

Suddenly a hissing

gust forced in,

tossed pages

of an open book,

shook hung wall

certificates,

slurped up my

net worth form

off my desk

and rushed out,

serpentine.

 

Feet shocked,

my sight leaped

out the window

behind the sheet,

clinging to its tail,

as I stood

bit in awe,

a lot teased,

watching it

soar higher

sticking out

its tongue

back at me.

But soon it

began to descend

earthward,

abruptly.

Contrasting

the majestic

flight it had

just borne,

it landed

disgracefully,

torn.

 

I walked down

to where it now laid

in a small puddle.

Wet, tattered, soiled.

Smudged, bleeding

ink all over

its soggy body.

 

And, then it dawned.

My net worth on

a helpless sheet

of paper!

And, a warm smile

entered me again…

 

Scarlet Leaf Review, published 06/15/2016

 

 

 

 

